Wednesday, October 18, 2006

Question of the Day: Do Hobey Baker Winners/Finalists typically go onto the NHL?

I was going to do a Player of the Day feature on Ryan Miller (Hobey Baker Winner in 2001) and while I was doing some research I decided to focus on past winners and finalists instead. (* = past winner)

Ted Drury, Harvard
Greg Johnson, North Dakota
Mark Kaufmann, Yale
*Paul Kariya, Maine
Jim Montgomery, Maine
Derek Plante, Minnesota-Duluth
Brian Rolston, Lake Superior State
David Sacco, Boston U.
Brian Savage, Miami
Bryan Smolinski, Michigan State

Craig Conroy, Clarkson
Dean Fedorchuk, Alaska Fairbanks
Neil Little, Rensselaer
*Chris Marinucci, Minnesota-Duluth
Sean McCann, Harvard
David Oliver, Michigan
Jamie Ram, Michigan Tech
Dwayne Roloson, UMass Lowell
Steve Shields, Michigan
Brian Wiseman, Michigan

Brian Bonin, Minnesota
Greg Bullock, UMass Lowell
Anson Carter, Michigan State
Mike Grier, Boston U.
*Brian Holzinger, Bowling Green
Chris Imes, Maine
Jay McNeill, Colorado College
Brendan Morrison, Michigan
Brian Mueller, Clarkson
Martin St. Louis, Vermont

Keith Aldridge, Lake Superior State
*Brian Bonin, Minnesota
Mike Crowley, Minnesota
Chris Drury, Boston U.
Peter Geronazzo, Colorado College
Brendan Morrison, Michigan
Burke Murphy, St. Lawrence
Jay Pandolfo, Boston U.
Eric Perrin, Vermont
Martin St. Louis, Vermont

Jason Blake, North Dakota
Mike Crowley, Minnesota
Chris Drury, Boston U.
Mike Harder, Colgate
John Madden, Michigan
*Brendan Morrison, Michigan
Randy Robitaille, Miami
Martin St. Louis, Vermont
Brian Swanson, Colorado College
Todd White, Clarkson

Chad Alban, Michigan State
Dan Boyle, Miami
*Chris Drury, Boston U.
Ray Giroux, Yale
Eric Healey, Rensselaer
Jason Krog, New Hampshire
Mark Mowers, New Hampshire
Bill Muckalt, Michigan
Curtis Murphy, North Dakota
Mike York, Michigan State

Jason Blake, North Dakota
Hugo Boisvert, Ohio State
Brian Gionta, Boston College
Jeff Hamilton, Yale
Eric Heffler, St. Lawrence
Steve Kariya, Maine
*Jason Krog, New Hampshire
Michel Larocque, Boston U.
Brian Swanson, Colorado College
Mike York, Michigan State

Mike Comrie, Michigan
Ty Conklin, New Hampshire
Jeff Farkas, Boston College
Brian Gionta, Boston College
Shawn Horcoff, Michigan State
Joel Laing, Rensselaer
Andy McDonald, Colgate
*Mike Mottau, Boston College
Jeff Panzer, North Dakota
Steve Reinprecht, Wisconsin

Erik Anderson, St. Lawrence
Ty Conklin, New Hampshire
Brian Gionta, Boston College
Jeff Hamilton, Yale
Dany Heatley, Wisconsin
Andy Hilbert, Michigan
Kent Huskins, Clarkson
Jordan Leopold, Minnesota
*Ryan Miller, Michigan State
Jeff Panzer, North Dakota

Ryan Carter, Iona
Marc Cavosie, Rensselaer
Rob Collins, Ferris State
Wade Dubielewicz, Denver
Jim Fahey, Northeastern
Mark Hartigan, St. Cloud State
Darren Haydar, New Hampshire
*Jordan Leopold, Minnesota
Ryan Miller, Michigan State
Doug Murray, Cornell

Ben Eaves, Boston College
Chris Higgins, Yale
Chris Kunitz, Ferris State
Dave LeNeveu, Cornell
John-Michael Liles, Michigan State
Zach Parise, North Dakota
Tom Preissing, Colorado College
*Peter Sejna, Colorado College
Joe Tallari, Niagara
R.J. Umberger, Ohio State

Of the 11 winners between 93-03, 5 are/were key players in the league (Kariya, Drury, Morrison, Miller, Leopold). The other six made little to no impact (Bonin, Marinucci, Krog, Mottau & Sejna).

In total since 1993 there have been 110 players nominated for the Hobey Baker (counting a player nominated twice as two players) and 47 have gone onto or seem to be embarking on very successful careers with potentially a couple more to follow. When people criticize the calibre of play when watching a college hockey game, remind them that this is where Kariya, McDonald, Carter, Morrison, Gionta, Rolston, Savage, Smolinski, Kunitz, Conroy, Boyle, Heatley, Plante, Roloson, G. Johnson, J. Blake, Pandolfo, Fahey, Madden, Liles, Leopold, St. Louis, Comrie, Grier, York, Umberger, Miller,Horcoff, Reiprecht, Shields, White, Preissing and Parise all got their starts.

No comments: