Monday, November 27, 2006

Trent Yawney Fired, Denis Savard Takes Over

If the Hawks ever win the Cup under Savard, I have a pretty good idea who will get to lift it first..

But given that this franchise has been in disarray for so long I don't think they need to worry about that right now. The Hawks have not won a playoff round since 1996 and have only been to the playoffs once in the last 8 years.

Over those eight years, they've gone through far too many head coaches: Craig Hartsburg, Dirk Graham, Lorne Molleken, Bob Pulford, Alpo Suhonen, Al MacAdam/Denis Savard (co-coaches), Brent Sutter and Trent Yawney.

It seems the Hawks have been grooming Savard for this role since his retirement in 1997. Here's hoping for the sake of Hawks' fans that this move will bring some stability behind the bench and will help to get things turned around in the right direction.

On an another note, I have to point out the resemblance to another star who has been in the news recently:

No comments: